Not at Once

They look at it, sift through it, and discard it,
As soon as they see they can’t find the logic in it,
And it’s exhausting to keep it coming,
When there’s nothing coming through,

I take a deep breath and gather it up,
Like a gathering of flowers I hold them close, like a hug,
And breath again to make sure the aroma’s just right,
And I feel the magic of it rise up in me,
I feel light,

And I blow with a gust and send the flowers flying into them,
And watch to see their eyes light up as the magic sneaks up the stem,
And magic flies full force into a calculating filter,
Which hurls scepticism out and allows nothing to bewilder
Because it’s not logical,

And no, perhaps it’s not logical, not all at once,
No, love and empathy and passion aren’t ration,
Not all at once,
Dreams and bigger dreams,
Have gaps too big to bridge them,
All at once.

But give me one plank,
Tomorrow give me one more,
And in a year I’ll show you the river,
From the other side of the shore,
It’s not all at once,

And it’s exhausting to keep believing,
That one day you’ll see it,
That you’ll receive the magic I’m breathing,
It’s tiring to keep gathering,

But I’ve got dreams for you,
Dreams for you to dream,
So give me a plank to place at the shore,
It won’t be at once,
But tomorrow give me one more.

6 thoughts on “Not at Once

  1. I can willingly ascribe to the magic describe… you articulate grace with a sovereign mind of blissful delights. You Maker will ensure your flame ignites…

    Presencing with the King. He knights and crowns you with glory

    Bless you!

    Like

  2. Why is it we think we can build that bridge all at once frantically without thought? Give me one plank at a time and my bridge will be beautiful and safe!! I love the picture in my heart when I read this poem

    Like

Leave a comment