Love, an imperfect one. (Happy Mother’s Day)

I don’t know if I was raised “right”,
I’ve a lot of things I’m working on-
But at least I’m working on them.
I don’t have it all together, but hey, I’m human.

And I think of the future and all the ways,
I want to help my ‘kids-to-be’,
And a lot is different from the way,
My momma brought up me,

And I fear the ways I could mess up,
Cave, and do it wrong,
It scares me to be an imperfect mom,
There are so many little things,
That seep into little shaped people,

And I’m only human.
But there are a thousand lessons I learned from my mom,
And some of them were wrong,
But she always trusted me to make that discernment,

And that is a lesson from my mother which I love,
One that gives me courage,
To work on the things I’m working on,
And to one day be an imperfect mom.

I have a lot to thank you for mom.
I’m only human and that makes me worry,
But so are you, and I still learned from how you loved me.
It’s scary to be imperfect, but you imperfectly showed me,
Growing comes from mistake and redirection,
There is beauty in imperfection.

Leave a comment